The Job Hunt- Some Handy Dandy tips to avoid a Zombie Apocalypse (of your Career) PART 2

Posted: August 12, 2013 in Job Hunting

Hello Everyone.
So I got laid off July 30th.
I have applied to 92 jobs.
Had two interviews.
4 auto reject emails…….SO FAR.

For more tips on job hunting go here to part 1

But I know there are lots of people out there job hunting either because they are in a similar situation or because they are tired of their jobs.

To spare a lot of recruiters misery- and to make yourself happy- follow this rule:

*ONLY* Apply to jobs that you are qualified for. If you are looking at the qualifications for the position that the company is looking for and say, you are off by one- that’s ok. However, if you are say, a copywriter… and that’s all you have ever done, you shouldn’t apply for a chief engineer’s position.

I hated when I got a resume and I am looking at it… and the first thought I had was “What was this person smoking?”

One of my former co-workers asked how I was able to apply to so many jobs in 2 weeks. Well I did follow a lot of Ellie Sully’s recommendations (make a job out of job hunting!), however I told my friend the following:

On paper I have a very eclectic background. I have had a few people tell me that it looks like I am living two lives between recruiting and producing- and I like it! It gives me a chance on how to explain how one position helps the other.

Don’t know where to begin? Ask yourself a few questions:

  1. What do you like doing all day long?
  2. What are some of your favorite companies?

Then reverse engineer!!!

  • See what’s available already.

Go to sites like Linkedin.com, Indeed.com etc. See what the market is positing in your area. If you don’t see anything that fits your qualifications- DO NOT FREAK OUT. It could be that companies are not willing to pay for postings out to various sites because that particular skill set you have is not high on their priority list at the moment- but what they are posting is more of an immediate need.

  • Look at companies that you like and/or use yourself.

Yes. If you say, are a huge fan of Victorinox Luggage (like I am) go to the Victorinox website. Also look at companies that you use on a daily basis. Have T-mobile as a carrier? Then go check T-mobile (actually I recommend this in general as they are very nice with their comp plans for their employees).  One of the perks of working for a company that you already use- you know the product/service (and more than likely… you will probably get an employee discount on top of it.

  • Research Research Research

I cannot express this enough. There are a lot of scam companies out there. Or they portray themselves in which you can make a lot of money quickly, but there’s a lot of loopholes (I am thinking of marketing companies in the Chicagoland area really).

If you stumble across a job posting and you have never heard of the company- go straight to THEIR website. In this day and age of technology, its very rare for a company of any sort not to have a website. If you can’t find their website- be careful going forward.

Check out RipoffReport.com. People will talk about a company on this website from the consumer side of things. If they have a billion negative reviews… do you really want to work there? How would they treat their employees?

Which leads to another website- glassdoor.com. This one is pretty good and allows people to anonymously post reviews of their current or former companies (it also has a job search section!!!) . Just make sure to look at the dates of the reviews. Any negative reviews between 2007 and 2010 should be taken with a grain of salt due to the recession.

  • Google is your friend.

Google lists. Live in San Diego? Google “Top companies to work for in San Diego”.  Are you a web designer? Google “Top companies for Web designers in X” (x being wherever you live).

Go to reputatble sites such as Forbes.com and look at their rankings section like this one.

There have been a number of times I would look at a list like that and go “How could I forget a company like…X??? I use that product/service every day/week/month”

  • Network Network Network

If you leave a company X on your own accord to go to company Y, keep in contact with the people you enjoyed working with at company X. You NEVER know when you might need a recommendation letter, someone to vouch you worked there (esp. if the company closed) or maybe you need to fill a position at your new company. Wouldn’t you want to work with good hardworking people that you already know?

Great example: I have a supervisor, I will refer to him as Captain (because that was my nickname for him… as in Captain Picard but that’s a long story) who was just…. awesome. I adore this guy. Shortly after I left company X, I found out from him he got laid off. In the ensuing months,  whenever I had a moment, I would skim linkedin etc and send him postings that I thought would work for him. He did eventually start another position. When I got laid off, I had a quick turn around before an interview (4 days). Captain was one of the first people I texted telling him that Ellie Sully and I were laid off. 2 days later I get scheduled for this interview. I told Captain and the next day when we met up for coffee, he had a recommendation letter for me.

So basically- treat other people how you want to be treated. It will come back to you in spades- both good and bad!

Comments
  1. […] me up the wall with this job. Some of these I have already addressed (which you can see here and here ). Considering now that I am handling candidates and clients and learning a whole new […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

