That’s it…have to take about this: gun safety.

Posted: March 2, 2014 in Law/Legal
Tags: , ,

I just saw this article posted in my Facebook feed (read it here ).
I am so tired of seeing articles like this.  For those of you not living in the state of Illinois, for the last year or so we have been contesting conceal carry laws. Yes, we being the last state in the union not having concealed carry had to go all the way to the Supreme Court to get it overturned.

Between that and shootings in Aurora,  Colorado etc the wonderful 4th estate has been making the 24 hour new cycle nothing but shootings.  It reminds me of something from my sociology class years ago with JT, its the summer of the shark all over again. The media latches on to one type of story and then beats it to death in the news cycle.

Now I should admit up front that I come from a police/military family. Yes I know this skews my vision a bit. I was raised with the following rules:
1) until around the age of 10 or so, I was not even allowed to give my dad a hug until he locked his duty belt away when he got home from work.
2) I was not allowed to touch any of the guns in the house unless I was at the range with my dad or someone he deemed appropriate (usually one of his military/cop friends)
3) the only other time I was allowed to pick up a gun is if my parents where not home, someone broke in and shot our dog.

Of course my father made it clear the damage that could be done if using a gun incorrectly.

I’ve gotten into long debates with my friends about owning guns. I will never in a million years force someone to have a gun if they don’t want it. However, if I want one and go through all the steps legally to obtain one,  don’t take that away from me.

Here in Chicago, it has become common place sadly to hear about another shooting in the nightly news. Some people are blaming violent video games, rap music or violent movies because some gangbanger shot another gangbanger.

I am living proof, along with my cousins and other members of my family,  that violent media DOES NOT cause this. I grew up watching movies like Die Hard, Lethal Weapon and pretty much the entirety of John Wayne’s filmography. Am I trigger happy? No. Why? Because my parents made it a point to tell me that shooting people is wrong (and my father also pointed out every single police procedural that was wrong in every film).

It comes down to this…bad parenting or the lack there of. Now the article above doesn’t say if the kids were left alone or not. I blame the uncle for not locking up his gun, I blame parents for not drilling it into their children’s head that they should never touch one.

Now before you jump down my throat, I know parents that have done exactly what I have begged them to do: scare the living shit out of their kids and tell them that they should never pick up a gun. The kid does it anyway. Why? Who knows. I know of one situation where my friend (who shall remain nameless) drilled into her kids heads that if you ever saw a gun not to touch it and to tell an adult immediatly. There are not any guns in their home. One of her kids went to a friend’s house and the friend was showing her kid a loaded pistol. Her kid didn’t touch it but didn’t say anything about it for a few days. I don’t blame her or the kid in this situation. I blame the friends parents that they were not responsible enough to have two brain cells to rub together to have that pistol locked up.

Oh I know the gun owners will argue about locking up their weapons, it looses time when you have to leave your gun unloaded and locked up (like in some states). If you can, leave it loaded and where ever in your home you want. If it gets stolen, don’t be surprised if you get charged as an accessory to something. But for Christ’s sake, if you know kids are going to be around, LOCK IT UP.

If you are  a gun owner, and you don’t have your weapon on you,  and their are children around….please,  spare another headache for yourself in the least and lock up your weapon.

Leave a Reply

