Why you need to watch movies at a theater (or something funny happened on the way to Captain America)

Posted: April 4, 2014 in Uncategorized

Wow. Scourge and I saw Captain America:The Winter Solider last night at our favorite theater here in Chicago:Amc River East. This theater is in the heart of the Gold Coast neighborhood down the street from Navy Pier. It’s always packed for opening shows.

Since Iron Man 1 Scourge and I will go opening weekend (preferably midnight shows) for the Marvel films here. Never regretted it, especially after last night.
For the last year or so, there’s been this trend to have opening shows at 8pm on top of 10 pm and midnight release of a movie. Why? I don’t know, probably to capture more sales, but it works.

Scourge and I had tickets for the 8pm show. We got to the theater at 7pm expecting chaos like always. Kudos to the theater. Seriously. Since Avengers mayhem, AMC (especially River East) are on the ball with keeping the chaos to nill. We had tickets for the 2D show and we’re able to go straight to the theater where as ticket holders for 3D were standing in a long line waiting to go up.

This is our theater at about 730 last night:

image

image

It was awesome. If you look dead center in this picture you can see a guy wearing sequined shirt of Captain America’s uniform. Four to the left is a women dressed as Black Widow. I actually thanked her after the movie for doing the traditional 616 comic book version of the costume….and it was awesomely done. While everyone was waiting, people were standing and talking to other fans and complimenting them on their choice of attire for the evening. I got numerous compliments for my Captain button up work shirt and earnings.

I knew this was going to be a great crowd when someone cat called at the screen for a commerical for Rock In Rio. It was even better during trailers.

After the Michael Bay Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles trailer, someone…well I won’t repeat verbatim what they said, but they wished the death of Michael Bay. The entire audience roared in laughter. There were squeals of delight (myself included) when Angelina Jolie appeared on screen as Malificent. 
Scourge and I have a tendency to whisper to each other throughout a movie. Scourge claimed after watching that trailer that Angelina will get an Oscar nomination for the role. I wouldn’t be at all surprised…he is very good at making Oscar predictions.

One of the best parts (before the film even started) was the crowd reaction to the Guardians of the Galaxy trailer. It was insane. I actually turned around to look at the audience and saw people STANDING applauding the screen. This is the same trailer that aired weeks ago on Jimmy Kimmel Live, not anything new.

THEN the movie starts and during the Marvel Studios title card opening there were numerous cries of “Finally” throughout the audience.

I don’t want to spoil anything, but just based on the crowd reaction in my theater and the waves of people I saw for the 3D showings, I am predicting over $90 million for opening weekend ( frankly I wouldn’t be surprised if it cleared $100million). The film is great, everyone in the theater cheered, laughed, booed at the right parts (the booing came when certain villians appeared). At the end of the film, the cheering was deafing.

As the people (who were smart enough to stay till the lat end credit…which was most of the theater) strolled out, it was like listening to a bunch of little kids talking about their favorite cartoon. Everyone was in love with the film, didn’t hear a SINGLE negative comment. Gave me warm fuzzies.

But that’s the great thing about movies: the shared experience. Years and years ago when Daredevil came out, I went to see the Friday noon showing before going to work. The crowd was thin, but hilarious. My favorite memory from that was hearing a guy yell “holy shit it’s Silent Bob” when Kevin Smith came on screen.  When I saw X-men 2: X-men United, a brother and sister I started talking with while waiting in line were sitting in front of me. When Nightcrawler and Mystique are talking in the forest one of them said “Oh that’s cute he has a crush on her” and my reaction was “dude…that’s his mom”

I won’t ever forget,  till the day I die, when Black Widow says in this movie “I’m multitasking” and Scourge elbowed me and whispered ” my god that’s you”.
Or when the girl called for Michael Bays death. I yelled back “thank you” which caused more laughs. No one in the theater will forget that.

This is the reason why you need to go to a theater and watch a film. That new community was built, albeit a short time, where we all enjoyed an amazing story.

That’s why I love movies!

Leave a Reply

